Since its establishment in 1964, the Department of Physics has been playing important role in the teaching learning process. Department of Physics is always engaged in various curricular and co-curricular activities, to enrich the knowledge base of the students beyond their regular syllabus. Department of Physics regularly conducts student’s seminar for overall understating of the topic. They are also given home assignments at the end of each unit of syllabus taught. Apart from these regular activities of the department, faculty is engaged in research activities. Followings are the former head of the department:

• Prof. G. N. Roy, M.Sc. ( Since 20.06.1964 To 31.03.1990 )

• Prof. M. D. Uplenchwar, M. Sc. ( Since 24.06.1965 To 31.12.1998 )

• Prof. V. G. Deshpande, M. Sc. ( Since 17.07.1965 To 30.04.2002 )

• Dr. M. S. Deshpande, M. Sc., M. Phil., Ph.D. M. Sc. (Since 01.10.1981 To 30.09.2017)

Aims and Objectives

1. To inculcate in the students from rural and tribal areas to rational and scientific attitude.

2. To focus on education and skill development for the students.

3. To make students aware of modern technologies.

4. To motivate student to participate in curricular and co-curricular activities.

Teaching Staff

Mr. V. S. Dhabarde (Assot. Prof. & Head)

Dr. A. A. Mistry (Asst. Prof.)