The department of Marathi was established with the inception of Anand Niketan College being managed by Maharogi Sewa Samiti, Anandwan, Warora, on 20th June 1964. Compulsory Marathi has been prescribed to Arts, Commerce (Part-I & II) and Science (Part-I) faculty since the inception of the college. The department has also started Marathi literature as an optional subject to ensure and enhance quality in higher education.

The Dept. of Marathi has two Full-Time, well-qualified and enthusiastic faculties. Besides, the department also has two faculties on CHB. At present Prof. B B Awaghade is head of the Department. He is NET qualified and is doing PhD from Gondwana University. He has been teaching here for ten years. Mrs. Mokshada Manohar is an Assistant Professor in the Department and she is M. Phil and NET qualified. She is also doing PhD from Gondwana University. She has ten years teaching experience.

The Department has cherished history of distinguished scholars heading the Department. The first milestone as head of the department was laid by Prof. Page. After his retirement, Prof. M.D. Deshmukh had taken over as head of the department in1965. Prof. Deshmukh was an academician, noted playwright, short story writer and poet. In 1666 Prof M K Vaidya and Prof. Bhurgurwar joined the department. The department has an eventful history of five decades. In passage of time many new phases were added and the tree of knowledge grew on dimensionally and significantly shaping itself with bouncing buzz and bloom. The college notably welcomed its alumni as faculties. In 1976 Prof. S J Patil paved the path followed by Prof. Kalpana Patil. After the retirement of Prof Deshmukh, Prof Shrikant Patil took over as head of the department. He presided over the Marathi Teacher Conference held in Nagpur in 2009. He was also the chairman of Vidarbha Sahitya Sangh. He also presented paper in Akhil Bhartiya Marathi Sahitya Sammelan. Then Prof. M K Vaidya and Prof. P M Kalbhut joined the department.

Prof P M Kalbhut is post graduate in sociology, history and political science and he was awarded PhD by Nagpur University on ‘Folk Literature’. He assumed office as principal of the college in 2003. Prof B.B. Awaghade and Prof. Mokshada Manohar joined the department in 2007. After the retirement of Prof. Shriknat Patil, Prof B. B. Awaghade took over as head of the department. Marathi Conference on ‘Samaj Sevakanche Sahitya’ was jointly organized by Marathi department and K. S. Wani Marathi study circle at Anandwan in 2007-08.

To improve teaching learning process Nagpur University formed ‘Marathi Parishad’ in 1971. The second convention of the parishad was hosted by the college in 1971. S M Kulkarni presided over the meet and Prof G B Sardar inaugurated it. Since 2011 the college is affiliated to Gondwana University. Gondwana University formed Marathi perished in 2016. Its first convention was held at Mul in 2016.

The department has added numerous feathers in its cap. In its untiring journey the teachers of the department have made remarkable contribution to Adult Education, NSS, Magazine, Students Council, Alumni Association, Literary Campaign, Cultural Programme, Vrikshadindi, Grantha Dindi, Social Gathering and Community Extension Programme. The NSS and Adult Education Department, two landmark documents gave a spurt of activities for the institution and proved its prowess in community extension work. Prof. B.B. Awaghade was NSS programme officer from 20011-13. Prof. Mokshada Manohar has been Programme Officer of Population Education Club and Co-Programme Officer of Mahila Adhyayan since 2007. The college magazine has been a reflection of youthful talent and excellence. The department makes remarkable contribution to the college magazine. The department also organizes guest lectures, workshops, seminar, Group discussion, debate, essay competition, elocution for the development and intellectual progress of the students.

Teaching Staff

Mr. B. B. Awaghade (Assot. Prof. & Head)

Mrs. M. Manohar(Asst. Prof.)